current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

Excuse me I need to get off, this isn't my vacation
2006-01-23, 9:05 p.m.

Have you ever noticed when you get on an aircraft before they push back from the gate an announcement is made regarding the flights destination? They also inform you that if you have gotten on the wrong plane now would be a good time to get off. I now believe that vacations should also come with that announcement and without penalty you can leave your seat and find a destination that suits you better.

I have never had the desire to go to Mexico on vacation. However when recently invited I caved in and said �what the hell� I�ll go for a test vacation. Why do I not listen to that inner voice of mine? It�s always right and I always ignore it.

First of all, considering I live in Arizona and work in the construction field I experience both the Mexican culture and immigration on a daily basis. English is a second language is an understatement. And finally I can find street vendors just a couple hours and a border hop away from home. So what would posses me to fly 5 hours, negotiate immigration, and take a cab ride that would scare a New York taxi driver? I don�t have a freaking clue other than temporary insanity.

The upside of this crazy adventure: I speak and understand more Spanish than I give myself credit for. I managed to get the Spanish only speaking cab driver to stop for beer at a 7-11 on the way from the airport. Liquid courage to endure the cab ride since I don�t carry life insurance. I can take a dead resort bar and turn it into a deafening, foot stomping good time. Complete with 60+-year-old women dirty dancing and screaming alternative lyrics to Billy Idols, Money Money song. I can negotiate a foreign airport alone and get an earlier flight with preferred seating all in Spanish. And mostly I can amuse and entertain 5 immigration border patrol guards with my witty humor and never have my suitcase or body checked in the process.

Lessons learned: Always accept an invitation to an adventure or you�ll always wonder �what if.� Laughter and a smile are universal in any country. Be the life of every party. Dance even if the music and company are less than expected they just might surprise you in the end.

last # 4 comments # next