current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

Leaping lizards
2005-06-02, 7:03 p.m.

Bonnie decided that 5:00am was a good time to express her gratitude.

I was drug out of a dreamy sleep by several loud meows followed by Bonnie jumping all over the bed. Normally this is the pattern of �I want to go out, and I�m too lazy to open the dog door myself� routine. Except that the jumping part of the routine was very agitated, as if she was chasing something. The room was light, and I cracked open my eyes to see that she really was chasing something on my bed. That something was a very frightened 3� gecko. Poor guy had already lost his tail. I reached for him and he leaped from the bed to the floor scurrying under my tote bag. Follow of course by one over weight cat who was now frantically clawing at my beautiful Donna Karan black micro-fiber tote. AAAAAIIIIIGHHHH! NOT my favorite tote! Get away from my tote bag you silly feline.

It�s a good thing that lizards don�t scare me. I followed the lizard and the cat out of bed over Muffin Anne who of course was lying on her bed watching this 3- ring circus with curiosity. I carefully moved the tote bag and the little gecko scurried half way up the side. Bonnie once again pounced missing him by a fraction of an inch. He scurried back down and underneath it out of her claws reach for a moment. I knew I�d never be able to catch him so I needed a little trap. On the nightstand 1 water glass � full I drank the last bit of water out, gently moved the tote bag one more time and presto put the glass over the top of him. I found a piece of cardboard from a tablet in my tote bag and slid it under the glass. Ta-Da, one trapped lizard.

I took a moment to inspect him through the glass and he looked relatively unharmed except for the missing tail. I took him outside and let him go. Bonnie of course spent the next 15 minutes looking all over my bedroom for her missing treasure.

Things could be worse, could have been a scorpion instead of a harmless little gecko.

last # 2 comments # next