current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

5414.5
2005-05-24, 9:02 a.m.

I have survived 5414.5 hours of quality time with my mother. What exactly is the definition of quality time? To me it�s � gallon of vodka, 1 case of corona, several micro brews and 2 bottles of wine. Consumption time = 5414.5 hours.

Most notable highlight: She decided to have dinner with my ex-husband and his new girlfriend and then tell me how wonderful it was. I pointed out that I was not amused by this dinner engagement behind my back. Argument at 1am ensued. Got up the next morning, and she was gone. Packed and left. Pretty certain she would return since my Aunt and Cousin�s things were still in the house. Sure enough my Aunt drove her back and played �Dr. Phillis�. Interesting, my mom was the only one of us that still didn�t get the fact she might have made a bad choice. Oh-well. Life goes on, and it�s really too short to take issue, and argue further about it. We all make choices, and who am I to make choices for her or anyone else? Just express my feelings and have another beverage. Aaaah the soothing sensation of a vodka martini at 9:30 am.

I stand by my commitment that consuming that amount of alcohol in that time frame, an alcoholic that does NOT make.

Side topic, red wine has now returned (in moderation) to my diet. 2 antihistamines prior and no more than 2 small glasses consumed. No itchy hives have appeared. I also keep the directions to the emergency room handy. I think my allergy has subsided hoorah!

My aunt and cousin were also down for part of that 5414.5hour time frame. It was most enjoyable to visit with both of them. My Aunt is just a job away from being a stand up comedian. My cousin, well I�ve never really known her. There�s about 10-12year difference in our ages. This was a wonderful opportunity to visit with both of them.

My house is now empty except for the dog and cat. Both seem to miss the additional guests, but they will get over it. My pool has been shocked, and BOB is cleaning any last remaining suntan oil and dog hair out of it as I type this. Life is pretty much back to normal, and my alcohol consumption has tapered off.

3 cheer minimum for surviving 5414.5 hours of quality time with my mother.

last # 3 comments # next