current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

Driving Basics
2005-05-06, 10:11 a.m.

What is so challenging about driving a 4 way stop? How the hell did you get your license if you couldn�t pass this part of the test?

I average 2 or 3 - 4-way stops on my way to work. I�m annoyed, agitated, and appalled at the number of people who do not understand the 4-way stop, and how it works. I might also mention that I�ve not had enough coffee in my system to put up with the ignorance either!

I give to you right from the AZ-Dot drivers manual, how to maneuver an uncontrolled intersection:

Uncontrolled Intersections
When approaching an intersection with an inoperative
traffic control signal or no traffic lights, stop signs or
yield signs, treat it as you would a 4-way stop. Come
to a complete stop before entering the intersection and
then proceed when the roadway is clear. If two vehicles
arrive at the intersection at about the same time, both
must stop and the driver of the vehicle on the left must
yield the right-of-way to the driver on the right.
At a �T� intersection, the driver on the street which
ends must yield the right-of-way to vehicles on the cross
street.

That�s it, 1 paragraph. Read it, learn it, implement it or turn your damn keys over to someone who understands the concept.

I might also note that the cute officer that used to assist these morons with the challenge of a 4-way stop has not been present recently. He used to stand in the middle and direct traffic. Always a nice way to start my day, cute man in uniform with great legs and body, aaaah those were the mornings!

last # 3 comments # next