current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

New Calendar Date
2005-05-05, 4:31 p.m.

Recently I received several e-mails from co-workers regarding bring your kid to work day. I don�t have kids; I don�t really understand the concept. However, today I had an epiphany! Instead of bring your kid to work, let�s have �Bring Your Mother To Work� to assist with those difficult decisions and proper etiquette days!

I�ve had a previous entry regarding temporary stupidity and how it effect�s the people I work with. I�ve expanded that theory to include, not just stupidity but need to have their mother present to help with difficult decisions and directions.

Supporting my recent epiphany I give you:
� I�m not the I.S. support desk. I may know how to fix your P.O.F computer that you screwed up, but I don�t have to. We have the �unhelpful desk� here is their number. It�s the same number that has been in the phone directory long before I showed up working here.
� 411 connect is $1.25, let�s cut the crap, I�m way more expensive than that for personal attention.
� My office has a door, I don�t close it for you to open it and ask me about afore mentioned P.O.F Computer issue you are having.
� Fax Machine, Xerox, and all other office equipment is gender neutral. You jam it you fix it�besides aren�t women mechanically disinclined in your messed up view? What makes you think I can operate, fix, or help you with it?
� Coffee, you are not the only one that drinks it. Make more if you empty the pot.

Oh, the list could go on, today alone I�ve encountered all of my examples and many, more. I think my favorite was having a supervisor park himself in the chair across from me with a 100 page users manual for the video camera. �I need help programming the time and date stamp�. My reply after looking at the 2nd page of the manual for the table of contents; �that�s listed on page 6, good luck with that. If you bring in your DVD player manual I�ll tell you what page it�s on to fix the blinking display�. Amazingly, he read page 6 and figured it out, all while parked in the chair across from me. See if his mother was here, she could have helped him with that.

Sometimes working in a male industry has it�s perks�unlimited amusement, entertainment, and fodder for my blog.

last # 3 comments # next