current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

Peeping Construction Guys
2005-03-29, 1:55 p.m.

I�m officially moved. It took 5 guys 2 hours to completely move all my worldly possessions from one house to the other. I got credited with being the best pre-move packer/coordinator they have ever worked for. I�m not sure that�s something I should really brag about. All it really means is that I�ve moved so many times I�ve got it down to a science.

It�s not like I don�t have a house full of stuff that had to be moved either. My 2car garage is wall to wall, floor to ceiling boxes, and furniture. That doesn�t include the living room furniture that they put inside the house, or my bed that was set up for me.

I�ve successfully cleaned the rental house, and just have to meet the carpet cleaner and do the final walk through so that is one thing off the �to-do� list.

Bonnie and Muffin-Anne have adjusted quite well to their new home. Muffin-Anne has already been in the pool. Bonnie has been out investigating my yard, and of course the neighbors yard too.

The new house is really dirty inside. I knew it was bad, but then I was being optimistic. I�ve been scrubbing walls with TSP and painting. Every wall will need to be repainted. The existing carpet was ripped out the first night after realizing I couldn�t get the pet stains and odors out of it. I�ve got my work cut out for me for the next several weeks!

I also took down all the vertical blinds and threw them in the pool. Nothing like a good dose of chlorine to sanitize things. (The pool is in tough shape too, but that�s a whole different entry.) As I looked out my bedroom window at the back fence I thought �optimistically� it�s 9� high and no one can see over it. So not having any blinds shouldn�t be a problem. I really should start wearing pajamas to bed. I rolled out of bed Monday morning after oversleeping the alarm naked as the day I was born to be eye to eye with the track hoe operator working on the new sewer line that�s going in on the street behind my house. I waved�well what the hell else was I going to do? While he gawked and I�m certain motioned to the 20 other guys working I scampered down the hall to the garage to retrieve clothes. My dressers are residing there until the new carpet arrives.

This morning I have blinds in the bedroom. Took all night last night to get them up, but I have blinds again. However, noticed when I went for coffee in my towel that looking out the kitchen windows which also face the backyard that not only track hoe guy, but also back hoe guy, and front loader guy were all working right over the fence. I think they have painted a big orange dot on the fence to mark my house. That�s it I�m putting up a tip jar when I get home tonight. That�s easier than trying to put the rest of the blinds.

last # 1 comments # next