current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

Approximately 3.4 grams pure fury
2005-03-03, 7:34 p.m.

Hummingbirds. Amazingly brave little creatures. I have a humming bird feeder on my back porch. I like hummingbirds, and hanging a bright red plastic feeder brings them right to my doorstep. They occasionally also get confused by the red Miata in the garage. I wonder if they see it and think�I�ve found the Mother-load of nectar, then realize there are no feeding ports and fly off disappointed.

These amazing little creatures average about 3.4 grams and are feisty little devils. Extremely territorial when it comes to feeders. I�ve witnessed several hummingbird arguments in mid flight. The thing that amazes me most is they are willing to take on my cat. Oh, now don�t go calling the animal cruelty police on me. I�ve got the feeder too high, and away from all objects that would enable Bonnie to turn it into a cat feeder at any given moment. Bonnie is content to sit on the resin table and watch them. She�s given up on her leaping off the table and through the air to try and snag one. The table is too far away, and they are too quick. However, they are not amused at her presence no matter how far from the feeder she sits. They have taken to dive bombing her head. Making their shrill clicking and chirping noises while doing �fly-by�s�.

But the thing that amazed me most is yesterday while in the front yard spraying weeds. Bonnie was sitting in the driveway. Minding her own furry little business when out of no- where a hummingbird fly�s in for a dive-bomb, fly-by attack. There are no feeders in the front yard. This was pure revenge. I think the word is out in the hummingbird ranks and Bonnie has made their top 10 hit list.

You know, I wish I had that much nerve in me. 3.4 grams taking on a 15 pound cat. Bonnie ducked and moved under the front porch. The hummingbird followed her and made one last pass before moving on. I think my devilish cat has met her match!

This has made me decide to install several feeders at the new house. Little paybacks for my devil of a cat!

last # 1 comments # next