current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

Career Moves
2006-05-24, 8:31 a.m.

It�s that time of year again, the annual managers meeting in Columbus, Ohio. My boss gave me strict instructions before leaving. I believe they were something to the effect of �Before you act or speak, ask yourself would you say or do that at a prayer meeting.� Note to self, pay closer attention to what the Boss Man says. Well first of all I�ve not been to anything resembling a prayer meeting since my last hang over. Secondly, I�m scared to show up in a Catholic church these days for fear of spontaneous combustion. So, besides the fact I didn�t pay one once of attention to those instructions I plead that he should have used something I could relate to if he wanted my undivided attention on the matter. However as with everything in life hindsight is always clearer than living in the moment.

The instructions sort of registered on day two of the meetings when I called my wonderful boss man and said, �What�s up? The meetings suck, can I come home?� His reply was �That didn�t exactly sound like a prayer meeting in the background last night.� I mentally replayed my evening of taking full advantage of the company hosted open bar, and realized I just might have drunk dialed my boss. Mental head slap, oh crap this is just great. I quickly look through the outgoing calls on my cell and there it is, his cell number clearly dialed, connected, and obviously a conversation ensued. So, I casually say, � Um, well it was a little loud.� He replies, �Did they have an open bar? And who was there when you called me?� I do a little uncomfortable shift from foot to foot and answer, �Err, um, well, mostly just some of the other managers, and maybe a CFO or VP or two.� There was a long pause followed by an audible sucking in of air from the phone.

I�ve made some brilliant decisions in my life, and I�m adding this to the list. A moment of reflection now to thank god my boss has a great sense of humor. I�m still employed, and the CFO and VP�s in attendance that night invited me out for round two the next night.

I�ve still got one more hurdle to accomplish. I�m showing up at church on Friday for the boss man�s son�s wedding. Catholic Church with reception located on the church grounds. This could be a little touch and go with the whole holy water thing, and then throwing an open bar in the mix. Wish me luck!

last # 1 comments # next