current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

Party Animal
2006-01-30, 6:37 p.m.

Friday night happy hour was on the agenda as usual. The Ho-Posse decided to try a new spot this week. New sports bar opened up, and what the heck; a change of scenery is always good. Sports bars are in my book as a toss up between good and evil. You are usually guaranteed a plethora of men to look at. But they are usually dressed in white tennis shoes and engrossed in some sporting event on the 137 big screen TV�s located around the joint.

It started as a quiet evening in a booth eating rotten bar food and scoring the oodles of men. Jude however decided to take it to a new level of excitement after dinner. It was decided that we could gawk easier seated at the bar. So we paid off our tab and headed to the other side of the room. It was packed, and no one was budging off the bar stools. I managed to score us a table to stand next to and ensure we were served. A delightful waitress stopped by and took our order. It was then that Jude looked at me and said, �I�m going to pass out�, and pass out she did! Cyndi and I caught her before she hit the ground thank goodness. Mitch sprang to action calling 911 and taking her pulse.

It seemed like eternity before the calendar boys showed up. On the upswing of this excitement we managed to clear about 20 barstools, the firefighters were hot, and Jude is okay as far as anyone could tell She came around, and we all walked out arm and arm.

Saturday was animal theme night. We started at the Coyotes game and ended at a bar called Roosters. At the game I sat in front of a couple old bags that yelled �Go Yoties� or �Let�s go Coyotes, Let�s go!� all night long. I wondered if in a much younger day they were cheer squad or something. Other than the incessant raspy yelling the game was great. Coyotes won 3-1.

The bar is the best hole in the wall dive country bar I�ve found in AZ. Packed to capacity with dime store cowboys, cheap drinks and a live band. Mitchy and I decided that tequila shots would be a great idea. The bartender was an easy mark to flirt with and poured double shots for single prices. Now that is a bargain!

Why is it that not every good bargain is a good idea? I started to rethink that �great bargain� after the 4th double shot and 6th beer chaser. Did I mention I started my evening with 4 rum and cokes at dinner? Another bargain they were 2 premium pours for $2. That�s a deal you just can�t ignore right? Then there were the 2 beers at the hockey game. Holy shit all of a sudden the floor was still spinning long after my dance partner stopped spinning me. I decided I just couldn�t do another bargain shot and we left the bar. For those that are wondering, we had a designated driver.

Once in the car, I wasn�t spinning anymore and in fact we realized we had an hour before last call. So over to the Fox and Hound for one last round. Once we got there the entire Salty�s crew was hanging out and gave Mitchy and I a bad time for not being at Salty�s. Is it bad that the entire wait and bar staff at your local haunt know you, and are disappointed when you don�t show up?

Finally 2am arrived and it was time to head for home. What did you do all weekend?

last # 3 comments # next