current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

Staffing Fantasies
2005-01-13, 10:53 a.m.

Maybe I�ve finally snapped from over exposure to temporary help. I�ve been the Office Manager since mid September. I�ve been operating with temporary employees since the first week of October. I�ve had it! Don�t get me wrong, there is a time and place, for every very qualified temporary employee, but enough is enough.

I got the green light to fill the positions with FTE�s. The problem is that I�m so far into Temporary Help Hell that I�ve lost my perspective on what I really need and want permanent FTE�s for. I sat in my office yesterday, dealing with revising a staffing plan. A plan that will also take care of some problems I have with the left over existing FTE�s from before my time.

As I stared out my window, watching the palm trees sway across the road I thought of all my employees as little cut out cardboard figures. I thought of placing them all in an empty coffee can shaking it, and then dumping them out on a mat labeled with job functions. Where you land is what you get, suck it up, deal with it, and be happy.

Yep I�ve snapped! How utterly unprofessional was that thought? I had very little if no regard to what their needs, goals, career objectives might be. I�ve turned into the manager from hell. But I�m blaming it all on the fact the Temporary Help did it to me, man!

I�m happy to report that I drug myself from the window, devised a plan that was thought through and addressed an employees strengths, and implemented it. My team Lead, bought off on it, my Area Manager thinks it�s impressive, and I�ve reduced my overheads. All without alcohol or drugs. Sometimes I can pull the most brilliant things from my ass when I have too.

I try to leave work out of this site. I spend enough time there, I don�t need to bring it into my personal life. But this work experience had me neglecting my site. I�m happy to report, I�ll be back fighting scorpions, dealing with over zealous men, and provide the entertainment and amusement you have all started to know me for now that I�m out of Temporary Staffing Hell. Thank you for your patience.

last # 0 comments # next