current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

Defies Gravity
2005-09-30, 9:07 p.m.

I differ with the old adage that shit rolls down hill. I�m completely convinced that in my world it figuratively rolls west. My office sits due west of the man in the corner office.

I�m always amazed by the incredible ability some people have to get through life with little to no skills and a complete lack of common sense. However, I�ve noticed that generally these people are not in the most respected positions of employment. However today that observation in relationship to stature was shot all to hell.

An esteemed colleague of mine was out of state on business this week. I arranged for a car with a navigational system. I even gave him a list of contacts, addresses and phone numbers. So far, seems reasonable right? Why is it then, he calls me today and says �here is the address of one of my contacts can you give me directions how to get there I can�t find my map.� I guess he didn�t opt for the car with the navigational system I reserved. I replied, �well you left the map on my desk why don�t you stop and purchase another one while you are there? We are going to need more maps as we transfer people out there.� Yeah, I suppose I could but can you just give me directions on that place I asked about?

I pull up an online map locator and proceed to give him directions from the intersection he gave me to the contacts address. Now he wants to argue that the directions are wrong and informs me that I should just do it the old-fashioned way and read the map.

Some people are blessed with the uncanny ability to be oblivious to the error of their ways. Oh dear lord so many witty comments came to mind that would be so inappropriate to share with the person on the phone. Not to mention the fact that timing is everything. Anyone who knows me, and the industry I work in can relate to the fact that I�m usually running all day, without being stopped for impossibly ridiculous questions like this.

Old fashioned huh? What happened to pull over and ask directions? Maybe you could utilize the list I provided you which included phone numbers to call and ask how to get there. Or lord help us if you actually ran into a convenience store and purchased another map for your own personal use.

West I tell you, it rolls west. That is really the condensed version of my day and the 30 plus phone calls I received from the same �esteemed colleague� of mine. Not even the most creative person could compete with the reality of the other 29 calls.

last # 1 comments # next