current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

Bad, bad Mother
2006-11-21, 7:57 a.m.

Well within 24 hours I�ve been scolded for being a bad puppy parent. Welcome to Arizona mom, glad you could show up and successfully remind me that I�m still 12 in some sick and twisted part of your head.

I procrastinated leaving work yesterday for a reason. Zero interest in going home and facing the person I call my mother. However at some point I decided to get it over with and made my trek home in rush hour traffic and for once not minding the fact it took twice as long as usual. Park the Miata; wander into the house to be confronted with a scolding. �How could you possibly leave your dogs without water all day long? What is wrong with you? I raised you better than this, you know better, it�s hot out.� As I stood there fighting to remember I�m 37 not 12 I calmly stated, �They have 15,000 gallons of water, it�s called a pool.� Which of course brought on another wave of condescending banter from my mother how pool water is unsanitary and I should provide them with water in a bowl. I ventured to the slider and notice she had filled their food bowl with water. I calmly asked her �did they drink the water you provided them in the bowls?� �NO, she snapped they continued to drink out of the pool.� I retorted, �Well whoever said you could teach an old dog new tricks was obviously mistaken.� The conversation ended there.

The dogs started drinking pool water from day one. I don�t know why they prefer it to tap water but at this point I don�t really care. The vet has informed me they are normal happy puppies and apparently the pool water isn�t affecting them adversely. So why messes with endless water supply that they like?

Who invited this person I call my mother to invade my home for the holidays? I will hunt you down and kill you sometime between Christmas and New Years when I can still plead insanity due to her presence.

last # 1 comments # next