current # archives # profile #posse #
guestbook # email # host # design

Thank you
2006-02-08, 11:34 a.m.

First of all I want to say thank you for everyone�s kind comments and condolences over the loss of my dog. I�m an animal lover and aspired to be Dr. Doolittle when I was younger. Muffin-Anne was the last of my rottweilers, and she lived a very long life. I�m sure she is in a better place, and has reunited with her brother. Not to mention she was quite the social butterfly here so I bet she has a ton of new friends wherever doggie heaven is.

It was the worst to take her to the veterinary office knowing it was the last I�d see of her. But watching her barely able to walk to the car is what made it easier. She was in so much pain and so sick. She hung her head out the Miata window all the way to the office. I like to think for those few miles she was happy. I stayed with her during the whole process. I�m glad I did. It was the first time in months that she wasn�t in pain. I sat on the floor with her head in my lap, and kissed her good bye. I truly miss her with all my heart.

Her dog bed is still in the kitchen, and there is one in the back yard against the slider door. Dog dish still has the food she wouldn�t eat, and of course there are still a few �landmines� that need to be picked up. I�m not quite ready to tackle those projects yet. Maybe tomorrow.

Today I�ll hug the obnoxious cat a little tighter, and tell myself the hardest choices are usually the right ones.

last # 2 comments # next